Seaside Shenanigans

My daughter and I decided we would make a blog of the things we see and do on Shetland. Yesterday we went rock pooling over towards Nesting. The rock pools were pretty treacherous so we had a mooch on the beach too.

On the way we nearly stood on this little chap..

Spot the Arctic Tern chick!

As the tide was going out more and safer rocks were exposed so we sat on them for a while and these swam and walked into our little net… we caught some young Pollack (I think) as well as hermit crabs and other smaller shore crabs.

We put them straight back after we took the photo.

The kids all wanted to go paddling… paddling to me is rolling your trousers up to your knees, evidently not this lot!

It was a typically crowded beach!

My sister is in the distance.

We intend to go back and see what else we see, sadly no orca made an appearance, which probably pleased this trio of seals.

Leave a comment